Computer Programs

All computer classes except Tech Time, Drop-In Computer Lab, and One-on-One Instruction require participants to be confident using a computer and proficient with a keyboard and mouse.

COMPUTER TUTOR 1 ON 1

Librarians are offering help with a computer topic of your choice. When registering, patrons will choose between the basics of Word, Excel, e-mail, Facebook, or internet

Date Day Time Age
Weekly Mon 2:30-3pm 18+
Weekly Tue 11:30am-12pm 18+
Weekly Wed 2:30-3pm 18+
Weekly Thu 7-7:30pm 18+
Weekly Fri 2:30-3pm 18+

Price: Free Community Event
Registration Begins: Apr 1
Location: 2ND Floor Computer Area
Registration Ends: When Program is Filled

E-READER INSTRUCTION

Learn how to download library items to your eReader with hands-on instruction. Please make sure that you have an active Novi Library card in order to access materials. Kindle users will also need their Amazon login and password.

Date Day Time Age
Jun 8 Mon 6-7pm 18+
Jul 6 Mon 6-7pm 18+
Aug 3 Mon 6-7pm 18+
 
Price: Free Community Event
Registration Begins: Apr 1
Location: Computer Lab
Registration Ends: When Program is Filled

ZINIO DIGITAL MAGAZINES

Learn how to access full digital issues of selected magazines using the Zinio service with your Library card. You must have a Novi Public Library card to access this service.

Date Day Time Age
Jun 8 Mon 7-8pm 18+
Jul 6 Mon 7-8pm 18+
Aug 3 Mon 7-8pm 18+
 
Price: Free Community Event
Registration Begins: Apr 1
Location: Computer Lab
Registration Ends: When Program is Filled

IPAD TIPS & TRICKS

This course is designed to launch first time owners into a comfort zone with their iPads.

Date Day Time Age
May 5 Tue 6-8pm 18+
May 7 Thu 11am-1pm 18+
Jun 9 Tue 6-8pm 18+
Jun 11 Thu 11am-1pm 18+
Jul 7 Tue 6-8pm 18+
Jul 9 Thu 11am-1pm 18+
Aug 4 Tue 6-8pm 18+
Aug 6 Thu 11am-1pm 18+
 
Price: Free Community Event
Registration Begins: Apr 1
Location: Second Floor Meeting Room
Registration Ends: When Program is Filled

TECH TIME

One-on-one session with a computer tech on a topic of your choice.

Date Day Time Age
May 7, 14 Thu 2-2:30pm 18+
May 12, 19 Tue 7-7:30pm 18+
May 17 Sun 2-2:30pm 18+
Jun 7 Sun 2-2:30pm 18+
Jun 11, 18 Thu 2-2:30pm 18+
Jun 16, 30 Tue 7-7:30pm 18+
Jul 9, 23 Thu 2-2:30pm 18+
Jul 12 Sun 2-2:30pm 18+
Jul 21, 28 Tue 7-7:30pm 18+
Aug 6, 13 Thu 2-2:30pm 18+
Aug 11, 25 Tue 7-7:30pm 18+
Aug 16 Sun 2-2:30pm 18+
 
Price: Free Community Event
Registration Begins: Apr 1
Location: Second Floor Information Desk
Registration Ends: When Program is Filled

LIFELONG LEARNING: GET GOING WITH GALE COURSES AND LEARNING EXPRESS LIBRARY

Gale Courses deliver hundreds of engaging, instructor-led online courses focused on professional development, technology skills, and personal enrichment. Learn how to create an account, register for classes, and get started with this great tool as well as the basics of our online test taking program Learning Express Library.

Date Day Time Age
May 9 Sat 1-2:30pm 18+
Jun 5 Fri 1-2:30pm 18+
Aug 8 Sat 1-2:30pm 18+
 
Price: Free Community Event
Registration Begins: No registration
Location: Computer Lab

VHS TO DVD WORKSHOP

Transfer your VHS tapes onto a DVD using the Library’s Creation Station. Bring your VHS tapes and blank DVDs.

Date Day Time Age
May 11 Mon 6-7pm 18+
May 14 Thu 11am-12pm 18+
Jun 15 Mon 6-7pm 18+
Jun 18 Thu 11am-12pm 18+
Jul 20 Mon 6-7pm 18+
Jul 23 Thu 11am-12pm 18+
Aug 10 Mon 6-7pm 18+
Aug 13 Thu 11am-12pm 18+
 
Price: Free Community Event
Registration Begins: Apr 1
Location: Creation Station, 2nd Floor
Registration Ends: When Program is Filled

CLOUD COMPUTING BASICS

We will take you through the basics of cloud computing and the many free resources that can be used in your daily life. Participants must have an email account.

Date Day Time Age
May 12 Tue 6:30-8pm 18+
 
Price: Free Community Event
Registration Begins: Apr 1
Location: Computer Lab
Registration Ends: When Program is Filled

IMPROVE YOUR TYPING SKILLS

Move from two-finger typing to full-blown touch typing.

Date Day Time Age
May 18 Mon 6-7pm 18+
Jun 25 Thu 11am-12pm 18+
Jul 27 Mon 6-7pm 18+
Aug 27 Thu 11am-12pm 18+
 
Price: Free Community Event
Registration Begins: Apr 1
Location: Computer Lab
Registration Ends: When Program is Filled

BASIC PHOTO EDITING WITH PAINT.NET

Learn basic photo and image editing using one of the best, free photo-editing packages on the web - Paint.NET.

Date Day Time Age
May 21 - cancelled Thu 11am-12:30pm 18+
Jun 23 Tue 6-7:30pm 18+
Jul 16 Thu 11am-12:30pm 18+
Aug 18 Tue 6-7:30pm 18+

Price: Free Community Event
Registration Begins: Apr 1
Location: Computer Lab
Registration Ends: When Program is Filled

POWERPOINT 2010 BASICS

Design dynamic visual presentations by selecting suitable design layouts, inserting text and images, and using animation to enhance your slideshow in this hands-on class. Participants must have basic computer experience.

Date Day Time Age
Jun 16 Tue 6:30-8pm 18+
 
Price: Free Community Event
Registration Begins: Apr 1
Location: Computer Lab
Registration Ends: When Program is Filled

GET INSPIRED WITH PINTEREST

Discover how to create and share virtual “boards” full of inspiration and ideas about your passions and hobbies. Participants must have basic internet experience

Date Day Time Age
Jul 20 Mon 6:30-8pm 18+
 
Price: Free Community Event
Registration Begins: Apr 1
Location: Computer Lab
Registration Ends: When Program is Filled