Past Battle of the Books


  • Because of Mr. Terupt by Buyea
  • 90 Miles to Havana by Flores-Galbis
  • Eager by Fox
  • Dead End in Norvelt by Gantos
  • Hoot by Hiaasen
  • Mrs. Frisby and the Rats of NIMH by O’Brien

Winning Team: Rebel Readers -Anusha Bayya, Prachi Jignesh Fozdar, Emma Putti, Jeslyn Wang, Katie Chang
Coaches: Lalitha Bayya & Tejaswi Bayya


  • Penderwicks by Birdsall
  • Cosmic by Boyce
  • Rules by Cynthia Lord
  • False Prince by Nielsen
  • Breaking Stalin’s Nose by Yelchin
  • House with a Clock in its Walls by Bellairs

Winning team Fiction Foretellers – Varun Boyapati, Aaryan Morasa, Rohan Deme, Aditya Narayan, Mukund Jayaraju, Ankith Palakodati. Coaches: Jyothi Palakodati & Priya Iyer.


  • The Puzzling World of Winston Breen by Eric Berlin
  • Candy Shop War by Brandon Mull
  • Heart of a Samurai by Margi Preus
  • Moon Over Manifest by Claire Vanderpool
  • The Aurora County All-Stars by Deborah Wiles
  • Millicent Min: Girl Genius by Lisa Yee

Winning Team Reading Ops 2.0. Team members were: Shiven Acharya, Advay Muchoor, Megha Patri, Eshwar Pitchiah, Ananya Prayagai, and Lahari Vavilala. Team coach was Pitchiah Balasubramanian; Co-Coaches: Minu Pitchiah and Mahati Vavilala.


Battle of the Books Titles:

  • Gollywhopper Games by Jodi Feldman
  • Atherton: House of Power by Patrick Carman
  • Mostly True Adventures of Homer P. Figg by Rodman Filbrick
  • Antsy Does Time by Neal Shusterman
  • So B It by Sarah Weeks
  • Dealing with Dragons by Patricia Wrede

Winning Team: "Reading Ops" with Shiven Acharya, Aishwarya Narayan, Neha Gogineni, Eshwar Pitchiah, Sahana Gubbi, Dhruva Vishwanath. Coach Suma Gubbi


Battle of the Books Titles:

  • Chains by Laurie Halse Anderson
  • Pictures of Hollis Woods by Patricia Giff
  • Savvy by Ingrid Law
  • Peak by Roland Smith
  • Maniac Magee by Jerry Spinelli
  • Mysterious Benedict Society by Trenton Lee Stewart

Winning Team:  The "Team Atlantis" with Mitchel Huang, Ria Joshi, Elena Komesu, Yeajoon Lee, Shannon Murphy, Saachi Pawa, Co-Coach Nishant Kakar, Co-Coach Leona Komesu, and Team Coach Rupali Joshi.


Battle of the Books Titles:

  • True Confessions of Charlotte Doyle by Avi
  • Pinballs by Betsy Byars
  • How to Steal a Dog by Barbara O'Connor
  • The Last Book in the Universe by W.R. Philbrick
  • Wednesday Wars by Gary Schmidt
  • The Alchemyst by Michael Scott

Winning Team:  The "Team Atlantis" with Ria Joshi, Shannon Murphy, Elena Komesu, Saachi Pawa, Mitchel Huang, Yeajoon Lee, and Team Coach Rupali Joshi.  


Battle of the Books Titles:

  • Down the Rabbit Hole by Peter Abrahams
  • Al Capone Does My Shirts by Gennifer Choldenko
  • Iqbal by Francesco D'Adamo
  • The City of Ember by Jeanne DuPrau
  • The Liberation of Gabriel King by K.L. Going
  • Jeremy Fink and the Meaning of Life by Wendy Mass

Winning Team:  The "Rising Readers" team with Tejaswi Bayya, Ramasahitya Karra, Suhas Kodali, Anuragi Koduri, Manogjna Satyavolu, Abhay Mayank Vora, Assistant Coach Sachin Padmanabhan, Assistant Coach Shannu Satyavolu, and Team Coach Malathy Padmanabhan. 


Battle of the Books Titles:

  • Shakespeare's Secret by Elise Broach
  • Breadwinner by Deborah Ellis
  • Year of Miss Agnes by Kilpatrick Hill
  • Wrinkle in Time by Madeline L'Engle
  • Travel Team by Mike Lupica
  • Where the Red Fern Grows by Wilson Rawls

Winning Team:  The "Book Brigade" team with Aarthi Janakiraman, Minu Pitchiah, Dhivya Sridar, Suhas Kodali, Sneha Rajen, Sangita Sriram, and Team Coach Chitra Sridar.


Battle of the Books Titles:

  • Wolves of Willoughby Chase by Joan Aiken
  • Sahara Special by Esme Raji Codell
  • Kensuke's Kingdom by Michael Morpugo
  • Shiloh by Phyllis Reynolds Naylor
  • Midnight for Charlie Bone by Jenny Nimmo
  • Lizzie Bright and the Buckminster Boy by Gary Schmidt

Winning Team: The "Nasa Jr." team with Nishant Kakar, Asawari Kanitkar, Akhil S. Nistala, Sanchitha Meda, Juhee Prakash, Raj Raina, Assistant Coach Meeta Kakar, and Team Coach Reeta Raina.


Battle of the Books Titles:

  • The Heart of a Chief by Joseph Bruchac
  • The Watsons Go to Birmingham-1963 by Christopher Paul Curtis
  • Thief Lord by Cornelia Funke
  • The Trolls by Polly Horvath
  • Saffy's Angel by Hilary McKay
  • View from the Cherry Tree by Willo Davis Roberts

Winning Team: The "No Vowels" team with Sachin Padmanabhan, Vedant Ram, Pallavi Vadapalli, Rubini Naidu, Juhi Prakash, Nishant Kakar, and Team Coach Malathy Padmanabhan.


Battle of the Books Titles:

  • Runt by Marion Dane Bauer
  • Mysterious Matter of I. M. Fine by Diane Stanley
  • My Side of the Mountain by Jean Craighead George
  • Yolanda’s Genius by Carol Fenner
  • Esperanza Rising by Pam Munoz Ryan
  • Tuck Everlasting by Natalie Babbitt

Winning Team: The "KCBLAM" team with Brianna Blossfeld, Lauren Drew, Abigail Glenn, Melissa Hulverson, Colleen McClure, Krista Tice, and Team Coach Daniel Blossfeld.


Battle of the Books Titles:

  • The School Story by Andrew Clements
  • The Power of Un by Nancy Etchemendy
  • A Single Shard by Linda Sue Park
  • A Long Way from Chicago by Richard Peck
  • Sammy Keyes and the Hotel Thief by Wendelin Van Draanen

Winning Team: The "KKBLAM" team with Brianna Blossfeld, Lauren Drew, Abigail Glen, Melissa Hulverson, Katie Murphy, Krista Tice, and Team Coach Daniel Blossfeld.