Databases - Novi Library

All of the databases can be accessed from within the Library. Some are also available from home or office, but you will need to use your Novi Library card number to login.

General Reference Resources

Click for our e-books from these popular series:

For Dummies

Encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research

For Idiot's Guides

Ebsco e-Books

Academic Search Complete
Designed for academic institutions. Comprehensive, multi-disciplinary resource of scholarly research. Coverage on a wide range of topics. Includes peer-reviewed full text resources for STEM research. Social sciences and the humanities also covered.

Explora
World book Enciclopedia Estudiantil Hallazgos [Spanish Lang. Gen-Ref]

FDSys (Federal Digital System) - FDsys provides free online access to official Federal Government publications which include Congressional, Presidential and Federal agency materials. Through FDsys, you are able to search, browse and download documents and publications.

Points of View Reference Center
Presents multiple sides of over 400 issues. Helps students assess and develop persuasive arguments and essays, better understand controversial issues, and develop analytical thinking skills.

Reference Latina
Spanish-language resource. Covers academic and non-academic subjects. Offers content from reference books, general interest magazines, health reports, and other sources. Daily updates from a dozen newspapers from ten Latin American countries and more than 2,500 health reports.

Animal Health

Merck Veterinary Manual
Click to explore Merck Manuals, a trusted and independently reviewed veterinary resource. Founded in 1899 as a resource for doctors, Merck Manuals has since expanded to offer unbiased and trusted medical information to medical students, patients, veterinarians, and pet owners. It is currently available in 12 languages, and offers medical information, videos, interactive models, quizzes, clinical calculators, and more.

Automotive

AutoMate
Small Engine Repair Reference Center

Kelley Blue Book – Provides consumer pricing and information on cars for sale, minivans, pickup trucks, sedans, hybrids, electric cars, and SUVs.

Books and Literature

EBSCO eBooks - Over 20,000 eBooks available on all topics. Michigan residents or Michigan library access only.

Hoopla - Downloadable ebooks and Audiobooks
Download ebooks, audiobooks, music, movies, magazines and comic books 24/7. Paid for by Novi Public Library.

Libby - Downloadable ebooks and Audiobooks
Download ebooks, audiobooks, and magazines 24/7 with OverDrive. Paid for by Novi Public Library.

Comics Plus
Read thousands of digital comics, graphic novels and manga, 24 hours a day, 7 days a week, with no holds and unlimited checkouts! Paid for by Novi Public Library.
Click here to access the Children's Library.
Click here to access the Full Library.

Literary Reference Center
Includes over 14,000 short stories and 54,000+ poems. Covers information on thousands of authors and their works. Topics include: plot summaries, literary criticism, book reviews, novels, and author interviews.

Library & Information Science Source
Journals and periodicals that help librarians and researchers keep pace with the latest trends in the field.

Michigan Authors and Illustrators
A searchable database of Michigan authors and illustrators. Provides biographical and contact information. Indicates whether person will do library presentations.

NovelistPlus
Contains information on over 260,000 fiction and readable nonfiction titles. Features lists of award-winning books, book discussion guides, Read-a-Like recommendations, and complete series information. Also includes reader ratings and reviews. Create your own reading wish list.

Novelist K-8 Plus
Find just the right book by subject, age, awards won, books made into movies, and much more. Read reviews and learn about the author. Create your own reading wish list. Includes tools for teachers such as Lexile levels and Common Core standards.

Poetry & Short Story Reference Center
Hundreds of thousands of poems, as well as short stories, biographies, and essays. Topics include the poetic forms, movements, and techniques.

Read It!
For middle and high school students and adults. Helps to build reading skills and improve study habits. Includes tests.

Read Michigan
A cooperative effort between Library of Michigan and the presses of University of Michigan, Michigan State University, and Wayne State University has launched a unique collection of regional eBooks available to all residents of Michigan.

The ReadMichigan.org statewide eBook collection consists of 300+ eBooks published by local university presses about Michigan and the Great Lakes region.

Business and Finance

AtoZDatabases

To access this resource from outside of the Library, please click here.

Detailed information on 30 million businesses and executives and 2 million new businesses. Includes data on over 200 million residents as well as new movers/homeowners. Special features include a background and criminal history search. Information provided on U. S. healthcare professionals. Includes a jobs database and email marketing.

To learn more about how to use AtoZDatabases, click here for video tutorials and click here for upcoming webinars.

Business Book Summaries
Provides concise, comprehensive summaries of the best business books. Professionals and students can use these to keep up with the latest information in the business world.

Business & Economics
from the Gale Virtual Reference Library

Data Axle
Use this database to locate directory information on companies all around the country. Find information such as location, sales volume, contact person, number of employees, and more. To learn more about how to use Data Axle, click here for video tutorials and webcast schedules. This database paid for by Novi Public Library.

Demographics Now: Business & People
Researchers and entrepreneurs are provided with comprehensive business and demographic information valuable to assess business viability, create sales leads and marketing mailing lists, complete location analyses and business plans, analyze population trends, find potential sponsors and donors and much more. To learn more about how to use Demographics Now, click here for video tutorials.

Entrepreneurial Studies Source
Resource for business students and researchers. It provides insights on entrepreneurship and small businesses topics. Offers full text business journals, magazines, reference books, case studies, and company profiles.

eBook Business Collection
A key resource for academic and business school libraries. You may access the full text of these eBooks from your computer, or download titles to most popular portable devices.

Linkedin Learning- Learn business, technology, and creative skills to achieve personal and professional goals using these free video courses on the latest software, taught by industry experts. Online videos are available for Developer, IT, Business, Marketing, Photography, 3D + Animation, Video, Web, and more. Both in-library and remote users must enter their library card number and PIN to access Linkedin Learning.

Morningstar Investment Research Center
Financial information including stocks, mutual funds, return information on various investment indexes, portfolio tools and more. To access video tutorials and more click on the Help and Education tab after signing in. This database paid for by Novi Public Library.
For in-library use, please click here.
For remote use, please click here.

Regional Business News
Regional business publications for the United States and Canadian provinces to 1990. Includes newspapers, radio and television news transcripts, trade publications, magazines, and newswires.

Small Business Reference Center
Covers all aspects of starting and operating a business. Includes information on accounting, finance, human resources, management, marketing, tax, and more. State-specific information included.

Value Line
Includes on-line access to Value Line's leading publications covering stocks, mutual funds, options and convertible securities as well as special situation stocks. To learn more about how to use Value Line, click here for video tutorials. This database paid for by Novi Public Library.

Some guests have reported receiving an error message when using our link to connect to Value Line.

To resolve this issue, you’ll need to click on “Advanced” and accept the new certificate.

If you continue to have difficulties, please contact us.

Career

Learn How to Become - A career is a journey, and something you will be committed to in the long term. It consists of different steps and, ideally, it is something that you feel is your calling. If you are a student ready to begin your higher education, or have held many different jobs and want to know how to make the switch to doing what you love, this career guide will be a great resource.

LearningExpress Library - The Career Center in this resource helps job seekers explore careers, prepare for career exams, and develop workplace and job seeking skills. To learn more about how to use LearningExpress Library, click here for video tutorials.

Professional Development Collection
Specialized information for librarians, teachers, and education researchers.

Computer Technology

Computer Skills Tutorial from Learning Express Library
Offers 90+ courses on topics such as computer basics, Internet basics, Adobe Illustrator and Photoshop, and MS Office tools like Word, Outlook, Access, Excel, PowerPoint, and SharePoint. Create a free account to access these tools.

Excel Blog - Newest blog posts about Excel

Excel Easy - Excel tutorials

GCFLearnFree - This program has helped millions around the world learn the essential skills they need to live and work in the 21st century. From Microsoft Office and email to reading, math, and more, GCFLearnFree.org offers 125 tutorials, including more than 1,100 lessons, videos, and interactives, completely free.

Consumer Information

Annual Credit Report - Provides consumers with the secure means to request and obtain a free credit report once every 12 months from each of the three nationwide consumer credit reporting companies in accordance with the Fair and Accurate Credit Transactions Act (FACT Act).

Consumer Action Handbook- Your go-to guide for planning a purchase, knowing your consumer rights, and filing a complaint. The new interactive edition of the handbook features additional resources, including:

Downloadable templates for a sample complaint letter (MS Word) and social media will (MS Excel).
Easy access to tools that can help you get updates about product recalls, calculate college costs, check the background of an investment professional, compare health care providers, or conduct a home inventory.
How-to videos on getting a free credit report, protecting your privacy in everyday life, avoiding job search scams, and more.
Infographics to help you navigate a purchase, file a consumer complaint, and understand your credit card statement.

Consumer Reports Online – Access full text of the popular magazine featuring ratings and reviews across a wide range of consumer products and brands. Paid for by the Michigan eLibrary.

**We also receive the print version which can be found in our newspaper & magazines room on the first floor.

Consumer.gov - From identity theft to debt management learn how to protect yourself as a consumer with these simple instructions.

Creative Resources

Creative Bug - Enjoy unlimited access to over 1000 online art and craft classes. Watch classes anytime, anywhere. Patrons can access Creativebug within the library, remotely at home through the Apple iOS and Android Apps

Education

Education Source
Provides scholarly research for education students, professionals, and policy makers. Covers all levels of education from early childhood to higher education. Covers specialties such as multilingual education, health education, and testing.

Kids Count in Michigan Data Book - Kids Count in Michigan is part of a broad national effort to measure the well-being of children at the state and local levels and use that information to shape efforts to improve the lives of children.

Learning Express Library
See their PrepSTEP Bundle or Job & Career Accelerator

Online College Database - Directory of U.S. Colleges, Universities & Online Colleges
Best Online Colleges in Michigan 2021 - Directory of Michigan Colleges, Universities & Online Colleges

Tutor.com - Looking for live online homework assistance from expert tutors? No matter the subject give Tutor.com a try.

NOTE: Please access this resource either through our app or website. Your Library card number and PIN will not work directly through tutor.com or their app.

Health Information

Alt HealthWatch
Provides information on complementary, holistic, and integrated approaches to healthcare and wellness. Sources include journals (some peer-reviewed) and reports.

American Cancer Society

Consumer Health Complete
Supports the health and wellness information needs of patients. Covers mainstream medicine as well as complementary and holistic medicine.

Consumer Health Information
Offers detailed answers to the 200 most-commonly-asked health questions. Provides answers in evidence-based reports that feature illustrations and easy-to-read text.

Health Collection
from the Gale Virtual Reference Library

HealthSource: Consumer Edition
Subjects include fitness, nutrition, diabetes, aging, women's health, children's health, and more. Information comes from magazines, books, Clinical Reference System reports, and pamphlets.

HealthSource: Nursing/Academic Edition
Provides researchers, allied health professionals, nurses, and medical educators access to scholarly journals on many medical disciplines. Provides indexing, abstracts and full text for hundreds of nursing and allied health journals, many of which are peer-reviewed.

HealthCare.gov - The primary tool for delivering information to Americans about their health coverage options.

Medline - Patients and health professionals. Covers all areas of medicine, including dentistry and nursing. From the National Library of Medicine.

Merck Medical Manual
Click to explore Merck Manuals, a trusted and independently reviewed medical resource. Founded in 1899 as a resource for doctors, Merck Manuals has since expanded to offer unbiased and trusted medical information to medical students, patients, veterinarians, and pet owners. It is currently available in 12 languages, and offers medical information, videos, interactive models, quizzes, clinical calculators, and more.

Personal Health Manager

History

History Reference Center
Documents, photos, maps, film, and video from leading history journals. Also includes biographies of historical figures.

Humanities Source
Covers literary, scholarly, and creative thought. Ideal for students, researchers, and educators interested in the humanities.

Kids' Resources

EBSCO eBooks K-8
Titles that support K-8 students across all subject areas. Also features a selection of teacher resources to support educators and administrators Common Core alignment. You may access the full text of these eBooks from your computer, or download titles to most popular portable devices.

EBSCO eBooks High School
For high school students and educators. There is a selection of teacher resources and titles align with Common Core Curriculum Standards. You may access the full text of these eBooks from your computer, or download titles to most popular portable devices.

Explora for High Schools
Provides hundreds of popular magazines and reference books for high school libraries. Covers subjects such as art, history, sports, and music. Includes thousands of biographies and primary source documents. Also includes photos, maps, and flags.

Explora for Middle Schools
Magazines and reference books for middle school students. Includes thousands of biographies and primary source documents. Subjects include history, current events, science, sports, and biographies. Also includes photos, maps, and flags.

Explora for Primary Schools
For elementary school libraries. Content from children’s magazines, easy-to-read encyclopedia entries, and images. Students can learn about animals, musicians, fitness, space exploration, and much more.

eBooks K-8 Collection - is designed for K-8 students and the educators who work with them. It contains more than 6,000 titles chosen to support a quality learning experience for K-8 students across all subjects areas taught in elementary and middle schools, and content aligns with Common Core curriculum standards. The collection also features a selection of teacher resources to support educators and administrators.

NoveList K-8 Plus (from EBSCO) - is especially for younger readers. It has reading recommendations for both fiction and nonfiction for kids in grades K-8, including book reviews from major reviewing sources. Included are reading lists by topic or study units as well as for lessons that meet Common Core State standards.

Tumblebooks - Listen and watch books come to life. This database is paid for by the Novi Public Library

Language Resources

ABCYa
This is a website for kids, but who says adults can't use it, too? The site includes educational games organized by grade level, from 1st to 5th, and is particularly good for spelling and phonics. There are games to practice vowels, uppercase and lowercase letters, sight words, synonyms and antonyms and more.

Activities for ESL Students
Grammar and vocabulary practice for all levels, including many bilingual quizzes for beginners. Also includes a link for teachers, with conversation questions, games, and many other ideas to put to use in the classroom.

Basic ESL - Basic ESL an online education portal, leveraging the "Basic English as a Second Language" learning system, to deliver a tested and proven model for learning English through rich internet technologies.

BBC Learning English
An array of wonderful activities for practice, some relating to current events. Includes videos, quizzes, vocabulary practice, idioms, crosswords, and much more, though all with British accents, mannerisms, and slang.

Dave's ESL Cafe
A forum for both ESL teachers and students around the world. Includes quizzes, grammar explanations, and discussion forums for students. For teachers, includes classroom ideas on all subjects as well as discussion forums.

Duolingo
Free English courses for speakers of Arabic, Chinese, Czech, French, German, Greek, Hindi, Hungarian, Indonesian, Italian, Japanese, Korean, Polish, Portuguese, Romanian, Russian, Spanish, Thai, Turkish, Ukrainian, and Vietnamese. Start at the basic level or take tests to move to higher levels. Practice vocabulary and grammar with short lessons that are like playing a game. You will need to sign up with an email address or a Facebook account. For use on your phone or computer.

Easy World of English
An attractive, user-friendly website including grammar, pronunciation, reading and listening practice and an interactive picture dictionary.

ESL Bits
Audiobooks, news stories, short stories, songs and radio dramas. Choose between faster or slower listening speeds and read along with the texts of the stories and songs. For intermediate and advanced learners.

GCF Learn Free
A well-designed site with interactive tutorials for everything from operating an ATM machine to reading food labels. If you click on the main page icon and then click on reading, the site has resources for English language learners as well, including stories to listen to and read along, and picture dictionaries.

Language Guide
An online picture dictionary, with everything from the alphabet to parts of the body to farm animals. This site also contains some help with irregular verbs.

Learning Chocolate
Vocabulary exercises organized by theme.

Many Things
This website includes matching quizzes, word games, word puzzles, proverbs, slang expressions, anagrams, a random-sentence generator and other computer-assisted language learning activities. The site also includes a special page on pronunciation, including practice with minimal pairs.

Oxford University Press
This site from Oxford University Press has activities to practice spelling, grammar, pronunciation, and listening. The site is a bit difficult to navigate and more suitable for advanced learners and savvy internet users.

Pronunciator
Pronunciator is a fun and free way to learn any of 100 languages with Personalized Courses that include study guides and audio lessons, video phrases, movies, music, and more. Learn online, either on your desktop computer or mobile device! In order to track your progress, please create an account. This database paid for by Novi Public Library.

Reference Latina
Spanish-language resource. Covers academic and non-academic subjects. Offers content from reference books, general interest magazines, health reports, and other sources. Daily updates from a dozen newspapers from ten Latin American countries and more than 2,500 health reports.

Tumble Books
TumbleBooks are animated, talking picture books which teach kids the joy of reading in a format they'll love. TumbleBooks are created by taking existing picture books, adding animation, sound, music and narration to produce an electronic picture book which you can read, or have read to you. Offered in Spanish, French, and English.

TV 411
This site includes videos with native speakers explaining key reading concepts like critical reading, summarizing and scanning, and key life skills like signing a lease and reading a medicine label. Following each video is a comprehension quiz. Click on the blue tabs across the top for lessons on reading, writing, vocabulary and finance.

VOA English
Multimedia source of news and information for millions of English learners worldwide.

Wordfinder
Test of English as a Foreign Language (TOEFL) Prep Toolkit

Legal Information

Legal Information Reference Center

Search over 12,800 state-specific legal forms by topic including Adoption, Bankruptcy, Name Changes, and more. A majority of the full text legal reference books provided through NOLO.

Legal Source
A scholarly resource of current issues, studies, and trends of the legal world. For attorneys, educators, business people, law librarians, students, and paralegals.

Michigan Compiled Laws – Public acts and legislation

Michigan Legal Help - Michigan Legal Help is an interactive website built to help self-represented litigants handle relatively simple civil legal matters on their own.

Oakland County Legal Resources Center (LRC)

News and Current Events

Newspaper Source Plus
Includes millions of articles from newspapers, newswires, and news magazines. Offers television and radio transcripts and ongoing daily updates from popular news sources. Primary full coverage newspapers are The Washington Post and USA Today.

New York Times - Get unlimited in-library or remote access to The New York Times online.

Novi News Archive - Access searchable full-text issues of the Novi News. This page will ultimately provide access to nearly every year of the Novi News.

Proquest US NewsStream - The latest breaking news with archives dating back to the 1980s, this content includes top newspapers, wires, broadcast transcripts, blogs, and news sites from sources such as The Wall Street Journal, Los Angeles Times, Boston Globe, Newsday, and Chicago Tribune.

Washington Post - Get unlimited in-library or remote access to the Washington Post.

People and Genealogy

Ancestry Library Edition - Provides access to billions of historical documents, millions of historical photos, plus local narratives, oral histories, indexes and other resources in over 30,000 databases that span from the 1500s to the 2000s. *Access only available in the library.*

Biography Reference Center
More than 450,000 biographies. Includes complete full text run of Biography Today and Biography Magazine as well as thousands of narrative biographies.

Europa-European Union – Want to live in or do business in the EU? Ever wonder what Europeans think about biodiversity or train service there? This site will tell you what you need to know.

My Heritage - Library Edition
Family history resource including more than 6 billion historical records from the United States, Europe, Latin America, and other regions. Includes the full USA federal census (1790-1940); census of England and Wales (1841-1901); U.S. World War II Army Enlistment as well as records of Union and Confederate Civil War soldiers. Over 2 billion family trees.

Sanborn Fire Insurance Maps

How to use the Library of Congress' New Sanborn Maps for Genealogy

Science

Applied Science & Technology Source
Broad coverage of research and development within the applied sciences and computing disciplines. Content derives from leading trade journals, professional and technical society publications, and conference proceedings.

Science Reference Center
Contains material from science encyclopedias, reference books, periodicals, and other sources. More than 4,000 full text, full-length biographies. Includes: biology, chemistry, earth & space science, the environment, health & medicine, history of science, life science, physics, science & society, science as inquiry, and wildlife.

Turfgrass Information File (TGIF) - The Turfgrass Information Center (TIC) at Michigan State University contains the most comprehensive collection of turfgrass educational materials publicly available in the world. Turfgrass Science is the use of grasses to enhance the environment.

STEAM